Introduction to Pastor Candidate Mary Alice Birdwhistell; Virtual Call Weekend June 11-14

The Pastor Search Committee enthusiastically recommends Mary Alice Birdwhistell as the next pastor for Highland Baptist Church.

Mary Alice is currently serving as Senior Pastor at Calvary Baptist Church in Waco, Texas. Though she has been in Waco for 11 years, Mary Alice is from Kentucky and graduated from Georgetown College. She attended Truett Seminary at Baylor University for her Master of Divinity.

The virtual call weekend will be held June 11-14 (see below).


Schedule Reminders

Thursday, June 11, 7:00 p.m.: Private Zoom meeting of Mary Alice with Deacons, Ministerial Staff, and Ministry Council.

Friday, June 12, 10:00 a.m.: Open Zoom meeting with congregation.

Friday, June 12, 12 noon: Voting information will be emailed to all Highland Baptist Church members and voting affiliates.

Friday, June 12, 7:00 p.m.: Mary Alice preaches in Friday Church (streaming on Facebook and YouTube).

Saturday, June 13, 10:00 a.m.: Open Zoom meeting with congregation.

Saturday, June 13, 2:00 p.m.: Open Zoom meeting with congregation.

Sunday, June 14, 10:00 a.m.: Mary Alice preaches in Sunday Service (streaming on Facebook and YouTube).


Voting Process

The process for voting will be via SurveyMonkey, a secure online survey tool. Each member and voting affiliate of Highland Baptist Church will receive an email with a link and password to cast their vote. Members and voting affiliates with little or no access to the internet may call the church office at 502-451-3735 to cast their vote. Voting will be allowed Friday, June 12, 7:30-8:30 p.m., and Sunday, June 14, from the conclusion of morning worship until 12:30 p.m. An announcement of the results will take place at 1:00 p.m. on June 14 (via streaming on Facebook and YouTube).


If you have any questions about the Call Weekend and/or voting process, please email the Pastor Search Committee and one of the members of the committee will reply to you.

~ Your Pastor Search Committee: Bob Cunningham (chair), Alecia Fuller, Kathy Belcher, Tyler Swim, Earl Shelp, Noah Cooksey, and Carolyn King